Soybean Diet Information

Sensitivity to peanuts (a legume) is more common, but soybean (also a legume) sensitivity is prevalent as well. If a person is sensitive to one legume they could be sensitive to another and some others are navy, kidney, string and pinto beans, chickpeas (garbanzo beans), lentils, and peas.
Soybeans are widely cultivated in the United States and many uses have been found for them in both food and non-food products.  The food products are derived from extensive processing to produce a texture and appearance similar to conventional foods and are readily available in most supermarkets, check labels. READ LABELSto see if there is presence of soy because, ingredients in products may be changed by manufacturers without warning. Also remember to check ingredients in fast foods, like meat and buns.

FOOD GROUPSFOODS ALLOWEDFOODS to AVOID
Breads and Grainsbreads, rolls, bagels, crackers, waffles, and pancakes NOT containing soy flour or soy milk; most hot cereals (oatmeal), dry cereals NOT containing soybreads, rolls, hamburger and hot-dog buns, crackers, stuffing, pancakes, and waffles WITH soybean flour or milk; processed breakfast cereals; English muffins; granola and natural cereals; grits; cream of wheat
Starchesrice; potato; sweet potato; soy-free noodles and pasta; macaronisoy-containing pasta; store bought pasta and rice in sauces; instant potatoes; canned and dry pizza mixes
VegetablesAll with exceptionssoy sprouts; canned and frozen vegetables in any sauce or breaded (Asian)
FruitsAllfruits in commercial baked goods
Milk and milk productsCow’s milk; cheese; yogurtsoy milk; coffee substitutes; non-dairy creamers; milk substitutes (like ProSobee, Isomil); soy cheese or yogurt; some processed cheeses
Meat and Meat productsbeef, chicken, pork, turkey, and fish WITHOUT soy added; eggs; all nuts except soy nutsmeat (hamburger) extenders; tofu; veggie burgers, other frozen patties; lunch meats; hot-dogs; sausage; meat loaf; canned tuna in vegetable oil
Fats and Oilsbuttervegetable oil or sprays; margarine, mayonnaise, salad dressing; Crisco
Desserts and Sweetshomemade ice cream or candy, pastries, puddings, pies, cakes, doughnuts, frostings made WITHOUT soy; honey; jelly; jam; molasses; sugarnon-dairy whipped topping; commercially prepared cakes; dumplings; ice cream; ice cream cones; pies; puddings; pastries; frostings; doughnuts; sauces; cookies; creamy; gelatin desserts; Soya ice cream products; chocolate candy; gelatin, hard, or nut candy; fudge; pancake syrup; chocolate chips; semi-sweet chocolate; caramels
Snack foodspopcorn popped with corn or canola oil, rice cakespretzels; potato chips; corn chips
Seasonings and condimentshomemade salad dressing and mayonnaise; pure spices and seasonings; pure beef or chicken brothsoy sauce; Teriyaki sauce; some steak sauces; Worcestershire sauce; flavor enhancers; sandwich spreads
BeveragesCow’s milk; coffee; tea; fruit juices; carbonated beverages; vegetable juicescoffee substitutes; drink mixes (like lemonades); beer; wine; vodka
Miscellaneoushomemade soup; noodle soups made WITH soy-free noodlesstore bought soups; canned and dry mixes; noodle soups with soy; Tempe; Miso; soy nut butter (similar to peanut butter); some baby foods

Some non-food products containing soybean:

oils

inks soap

crayons cosmetics

solvents resins

clothing plastics

bio-diesel

Remember to read labels.  Items to look for on label are:

Vegetable broth                                    Hydrolyzed soy protein

Vegetable gum                                      Soy albumin Vegetable starch

Natural flavoring Hydrolyzed plant protein                  lecithin

Hydrolyzed vegetable protein

Textured vegetable protein (TVP)

 

For additional help and information go to: www.foodallergy.org The Food Allergy and Anaphylaxis Network www.aaaai.org American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology

Get Contacted for a Research Study

×